Fearless Females Challenge: March 24 – Shared Traits

The following post continues the month long Fearless Females Challenge by Lisa Alzo, author of The Accidental Genealogist blog, which is focused on “celebrating and honoring ‘fearless females’ in our family trees” to mark National Women’s History Month, which is the month of March, with a post responding to unique prompts for each day of the month. (Note: Because I started this challenge late, I will be continuing it beyond March 31.)

Prompt for March 24 — Do you share any physical resemblance or personality trait with one of your female ancestors? Who? What is it?

I am told by family members that I share some physical resemblance to my paternal grandmother, Margaret Ann (Lapham) Kernan (1936-2004), and to other members of her family. I have fair skin, blonde hair, and green eyes (originally blue). I also share some resemblance to other members of my family, but they are all male.

As for personality traits, I share some with my maternal great grandmothers, Irene Vera (Balla) Sebok (1913-2006) and Goldia “Goldie” Mae (Worthington) Hamilton (1912-2006). My great grandmother Irene was notorious for being a “neat freak.” I have always been that way as well. Like her, I can get quite upset if someone makes a mess and doesn’t bother to clean it up. (It has always been interesting to me that my fraternal twin brother is the complete opposite.) I also inherited what some call the “worry gene” from my great grandmother Irene. She tended to worry about little and big things, and about her family members, which I have a tendency to do. Although I never got a chance to get to know her, I am told that my great grandmother Goldie loved to laugh, and always tried to find a reason to laugh, even in difficult moments, which is a trait I share with her.

Margaret (Lapham) Kernan, Irene (Balla) Sebok, and Goldie (Worthington) Hamilton

The Female Ancestors I Share Traits With (L-R): Margaret (Lapham) Kernan, Irene (Balla) Sebok, and Goldie (Worthington) Hamilton.

Leave a Reply

