Fearless Females Challenge: March 2 – Photograph

The following post continues the month long Fearless Females Challenge by Lisa Alzo, author of The Accidental Genealogist blog, which is focused on “celebrating and honoring ‘fearless females’ in our family trees” to mark National Women’s History Month, which is the month of March, with a post responding to unique prompts for each day of the month.

Prompt for March 2 — Post a photo of one of your female ancestors. Who is in the photo? When was it taken? Why did you select this photo?

Although I don’t have as many family photos of my ancestors as some do, I do have some good ones, particularly of my female ancestors. There are two photos that stand out the most in my family when I think of female ancestors. The first photo (shown below) is of my 6th great grandmother, Sally (Todd) Thornton (1793-1891). Although I am not sure when the photo was taken, it seems likely it was taken towards the end of her life in 1891. I selected this photo because it is the only photo I have for a 6th great grandparent. I like this photo because it is amazing to see an ancestor of mine that was born five years after the ratification of the United States Constitution.

Sally (Todd) Thornton
Sally (Todd) Thornton

The second photo is one I featured on my blog nearly a year ago. Taken in 1965, this photo (show below) is a unique photograph in my family’s collection, as it consists of six generations of women in one photograph. The photo features women in my family born between 1873 and 1965. In the front row of the photo, from right to left, is Crystal (Graber) Friederich (1950-2011), Tirzah Olive (Stephens-Agee) Martin (1873-1967), and Gloria Lois (Lapham) Graber (1933-2008), who is holding Tracy Lynn Friederich (LIVING). In the back row of the photo, from right to left, is Alice Lucretia (Wellin-Lapham) Graber (1916-1985) and Lois Beatrice (Agee) Wellin (1897-1983). I selected this photo because it features three of my female ancestors, Alice, my great grandmother, Lois, my 2nd great grandmother, and Tirzah, my 3rd great grandmother. For me it is amazing to see that many generations in my family tree in one photo.

Six Generations of First Daughters
Six Generations of First Daughters
Leave a Reply

