8 Years Ago Today

On November 2, 2004, eight years ago today, Mildred “Milly” Holt (1923-2004), died in Fullerton, Orange Co., California. Although Milly is not a relative of mine, she was a wonderful person, neighbor, and friend to my family for nearly two decades. In many ways, Milly became a family member, as she was always there when we needed her and we were always there for her when she needed us.

A photograph of Mildred “Milly” Holt

Milly was originally from New Jersey. She had a small family, most of which preceded her in death, including her husband, Ashton, and her two sons, Daniel and Garry. In Mid-2004 she was diagnosed with lung cancer, a fact which made such a strong, independent woman very scared, as she remembered how her son, Garry, suffered with the same disease. However, if cancer can ever be merciful, it was in Milly’s case, as she passed away soon after being diagnosed.

Although Milly was not very religious, she took great comfort in kind of a “prayer” (as she called it) or “statement of forgiveness” possibly from or inspired by Catherine Ponder’s The Dynamic Laws of Healing, as I later learned it may have been. The following is a handwritten copy of this “prayer” Milly gave my sister, when my sister was having some personal problems.

A handwritten forgiveness prayer Milly often took comfort in.

The text of this prayer reads: “All that has offended me, I forgive. Things past, things present, things future, I forgive. Whatever that has made me unhappy, bitter, resentful, I forgive. I fully and freely forgive. I loosen and let go. I let God do his perfect work in healing in my mind, body, and soul.”

4 thoughts on “8 Years Ago Today

Leave a Reply

