Genealogy Challenge: Ahnentafel Roulette

I have been working on the content I want to put on this blog for each of my branches, including my Ahnentafel. While looking for ways to present an Ahnentafel on WordPress, I came across a post by Genea-Musings called “Saturday Night Gnealogy Fun – Ahnentafel Roulette.” Thinking this looked interesting, I’m going to give it a try.

The following are the guidelines for Ahnentafel Roulette:

  1. How old is your great-grandfather now, or how old would he be if he had lived? Divide this number by 4 and round the number off to a whole number. This is your “roulette number.”
  2. Use your pedigree charts or your family tree genealogy software program to find the person with that number in your ahnentafel (ancestor name list). Who is that person?
  3. Tell us three facts about that person with the “roulette number.”
  4. Write about it in a blog post on your own blog, in a Facebook or Google Plus note or comment, or as a comment on this blog post.
  5. If you do not have a person’s name for your “roulette number” then spin the wheel again – pick a grandparent, a parent, a favorite aunt or cousin, or even your children!

Here is my Ahnentafel Roulette:

  1. Like many people, I know the names of all four of my great grandfathers (six if you count two step-great grandfathers).I presume I just need to pick one of these, so I will select one of my paternal great grandfathers, Delmar Clair Kernan (1908-1979). Delmar was born in 1908, and if he were still alive, he would be 104. Divided by 4, this gives me a “roulette number” of 26.
  2. The person that is #26 on my ahnentafel is my 2nd Great Grandfather, Ernest Jacob Worthington (1885-1939).
  3. Three facts about Ernest Jacob Worthington are:
    • Besides “E. J.,” Ernest often went by the nickname “Jersey,” which he came to be known by because he worked at a grain mill called Jersey Mill in Harrison, Boone Co., Arkansas.
    • Ernest was married twice: first to Mae Josie Gifford (1885-?) in 1906 and then Mattie Blankenship (1903-1944) in 1921. Both of his wives are claimed to have had Native American roots on their mother’s side.
    • Ernest had a total of nine children. The first three were from his first marriage, and were Pearl Marie Worthington (1908), Arlyss Worthington (1910), and Goldia “Goldie” Mae Worthington (1912-2006), my great grandmother. The remaining six were from his second marriage, and were Ruby Lee Worthington (1923-2004), Don Worthington (1925-?), James M. Worthington (1928-2011), William Worthington (LIVING), Ira Ray Worthington (LIVING), and Eulis Wesley Worthington (LIVING).

Looking at this, I cannot help but wonder what ancestor this roulette challenge would highlight for my other great grandfathers.

2 thoughts on “Genealogy Challenge: Ahnentafel Roulette

Leave a Reply

