Family History Through the Alphabet – O is for Origins, Occupations, & O States

O is for Origins (Ancestral):

One of the more interesting aspects of researching our family history is uncovering the ancestral origins for the various branches in our ancestry. It has been my experience when I confront family members with genealogy for the first time, most will inevitably ask, “So, where are we from?” This is something we all want to know–if we do not have the benefit of knowing already, that is. For me it was fascinating to learn where in the world my roots trace to.

The following is a basic overview of the ancestral origins of my four “cardinal branches” (Kernan, Lapham, Hamilton, and Sebok), and their related branches:

  • My Kernan branch traces to Quebec, Canada before their arrival in the United States, and to Ireland before that. The families that married into this branch trace primarily to England and Ireland, with only one related branch (so far) tracing to somewhere else, Germany.
  • My Lapham branch traces to England before their arrival in the United States. The families that married into this branch have more varied origins, including England, Scotland, Sweden, and France.
  • My Hamilton (originally Heldman) branch traces to Hesse, Germany before their arrival in the United States. The families that married into this branch trace back to Germany and England.
  • My Sebok branch, as well as those that married into it, trace to Pre-World War I Hungary before their arrival in the United States. Today, the locations that these families trace to are located outside modern Hungary, being located in either Ukraine or Romania, despite the majority of the population being ethnically Hungarian.

O is for Occupations:

O is also for occupations. Another interesting fact to uncover while researching family history is the various occupations that were held by our ancestors both in their own lifetime and across generations. While researching my own family history, I found it interesting to see what occupations my ancestors had, which ones had a long history in in my family, and which ones were not carried on by later generations.

Some of the occupations I have discovered while researching my own family history include: Farmer, Machinist, Bookkeeper, Teamster, Salesman of Prefab-Homes, Meat Deliveryman, Cook, Miner, Foundry Grinder, Bus Driver, Welder, Blacksmith, Maintenance Man, Pipefitter, Ship Carpenter, Rancher, Baker, Railroad Worker, Boilermaker, Porter, Elevator Operator, Dray Truck Driver (Drayman), Boarding House Proprietor, Merchant, Stone Mason, Teacher, Electrician, Construction Worker, Millwright, Home Builder, Tinsmith, Plumber, Mill Worker, Grocery Clerk, Shoemaker, General Store Proprietor, Hostler (Stableman), Weaver, Lumberman, and Minster.

O is for O States:

O is also for O States, or rather States in the United States that begin with the letter O. There are only three such states, which are Ohio, Oklahoma, and Oregon. My research into my family history revealed that I have connections to all three. The following discusses some of my connections to these states:

  • Ohio: One of my connections to the State of Ohio comes by my Beeney branch, which is the biological family of my paternal Great Grandmother, Maxine Elizabeth Davis (1912-1992). Her biological father, George Benton Beeney (1890-1970) was born in Licking Co., Ohio, a county the family came to live in by 1840. They lived in Knox Co., Ohio by 1831. Another connection to the state of Ohio comes by my Hamilton (originally Heldman) branch, which is the family of my maternal Grandfather Harry “Lee” Hamilton. His father, Harry Carl Hamilton (1891-1960), was born in Crawford Co., Ohio and grew up in Richland Co., Ohio, a county the family came to live in by 1840.
  • Oklahoma: My connection to the State of Oklahoma comes by my maternal great grandparents, Harry Carl Hamilton (1891-1960) and Goldia “Goldie” Mae Worthington (1912-2006), who moved their family to the state in about 1941.
  • Oregon: I have several connections to the State of Oregon, some of which trace back to when it was still the Oregon Territory and even some ancestors that came to the state via the Oregon Trail. My Agee, Thornton, and Davis families have such connections to the state. Other branches of my family came to Oregon later. My Kernan branch came to the state between 1895 and 1900, when my 3rd great grandparents, Owen F. Kiernan (1836-1901) and Harriet Dunton (1836-1927), moved their family there from Minnesota. My Stearns family came to the state by 1880, when my 3rd great grandparents, Theodore F. Stearns (1844-1930) and his wife Anna Eliza Backer (1854-1919), moved there from California. My Lapham branch came to the state between 1920 and 1927 from Washington. My Wellin family came to the state by 1910, following their immigration from Sweden.

Click here to learn more about Family History Through the Alphabet Challenge (Clicking this link will take you to another site.)

2 thoughts on “Family History Through the Alphabet – O is for Origins, Occupations, & O States

  1. Pingback: Family History Through the Alphabet – O is for … | Genealogy & History News

Leave a Reply

